The Framework Convention on the Protection and Sustainable Development of the Carpathians, also known as the Carpathian Convention was adopted on 22nd May 2003 in Kiev, and ratified by Poland in 2006. The Convention aims at pursuing a comprehensive policy and cooperating in the protection and sustainable development of the Carpathians to improve the quality of life, strengthening local economies and communities, as well as conservation of natural and cultural heritage of the area.
Its range covers seven countries: Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Ukraine, Hungary, Romania and Serbia. Each of the countries defines the geographical area of the Convention. The Carpathian Convention is a framework convention, which means that it defines general political objectives. They are to promote an integrated approach to the protection of natural and cultural heritage of the Carpathians. The Convention does not impose specific obligations, but invites the parties to cooperation in implementation of the agreed upon rules. The main areas covered by the Convention:

  • integrated approach to the land resources management;
  • conservation and sustainable use of biological and landscape diversity;
  • spatial planning;
  • sustainable and integrated water/river basin management;
  • sustainable agriculture and forestry;
  • sustainable transport and infrastructure;
  • sustainable tourism;
  • industry and energy;
  • cultural heritage and traditional knowledge;
  • environmental assessment/information system, monitoring and early warning;
  • raising, education and public participation